How the Other Half Hustle

Perdita Masters
4 min readAug 16, 2022

Taking inspiration from Julie Montagu, the American Viscountess

Earl of Sandwich (Canva)

Like most of you, I’m interested in ways to hustle.

I want to live my best life, work on my own terms.

I earn my living through a handful of different income streams, mostly around writing, but also teacher training, furniture flipping, KDP and rental properties.

But it’s not just regular people that are hustling. It’s all of us. Including the aristocracy.

That’s right. Just because you’re rich doesn’t mean you’ve actually got any money these days. Especially not if you’re trying to maintain and restore a huge manor estate that is hundreds of years old.

Recently I’ve been enjoying following the work of Julie Montagu.

You should check her out. If you’re British, you’ll like her. If you’re American you’ll like her. Heck I can’t imagine anyone who wouldn’t like her. She’s humble, authentic and hard working, with a great sense of humour. These are qualities I aspire to have.

But who is she?

Julie Montagu’s official title is Viscount Hinchingbrooke. She’s an American who married into the British aristocracy and fully embraces her role. In 2005, Julie married Luke Montagu, Viscount Hinchingbrooke, who is the son and heir to John Montagu…

--

--