My Mother Emailed Me Again

Perdita Masters
8 min readAug 21, 2022

I haven’t replied yet, I’m too sad

I’m trying art as therapy

I’m back at the holiday lodge with my two youngest boys.

We had a drama getting back here. It’s three and a bit hour drive, and my youngest gets very car sick so we drive slowly the whole way, with the window all the way down on the motorway. It’s noisy, and cold.

I’d coincided the journey with needing to collect second youngest son’s iPad from the electrical repair shop in a town about two hours in. So after two hours of driving, slowly, along the motorway, with the window down, cold and noisy, we reach the car park near the electrical shop only for me to go and drive into a sharp rock jutting out of a low wall and instantly pop my tyre.

Urgh. Pouring with rain, with a 6 year old, a 5 year old and the dog stuck in a random carpark in the middle of Wales. I rang the Roadside Rescue company to come and change the tyre but it was a two-hour wait. I could have attempted to change the tyre myself. It’s one of those things that your dad and then husband teach you to do but unless you actually do it you don’t have the confidence. I didn’t have the confidence. Plus it’s highly likely that my children are ASD/ADHD and my dog is an English Springer Spaniel so it was taking all of my strength to keep us contained.

--

--